Grrr, Force Close! and other issues. Email me!

October 4, 2009

Usually if you are getting Force Closes after an update that will not let you start the app, they can be resolved by uninstalling and reinstalling the app.  For whatever reason sometimes there are incompatibilities with updates.

Blank Screen? Try turning on your Wi-Fi and making sure that your connection is good and try click the menu -> update to force an update.  Sometimes the first time, it cannot make a good enough connection and it takes a while to either download or times out.  I will probably be updating the interface when updating the first time to display a dialog to inform you of the status.

But please email me (kludgery@gmail.com) or leave a comment on this site if you have any problems, so I can get in touch with you to figure out the problems and make the app better.  And check out the FAQ as there is some hopefully useful information.

5 Responses to “Grrr, Force Close! and other issues. Email me!”

  1. Mike Says:

    Hey, I’ve been using your app since the day I got my G1/Dream, which is about 5 days ago. Currently, I’m using it in CyanongenMod 4.999 and I love it. The only problem I notice so far is that, since my phone is not always connected to internet, I get the errors message telling the app can’t get access. However, unless I reboot the phone or uninstall and reinstall the app, there is no way of turning it off from what I understand. Could you give us and exit button to turn ps3friends off completely?

    Thanks and much appreciated,
    Mike

  2. kludgery Says:

    Hi Mike,

    Yes you can shut the background updating service off. Just go into the settings on the menu then select ‘Update Frequency’ and choose ‘Never’ at the top of the list.

    Would you prefer that it doesn’t show you the error messages?

    Alex

  3. Mike Says:

    Thanks, I see. But does the process itself terminate or just the updating? And maybe just one error should appear and a notification should be placed in the bar, which can be cleared. No new error should message should repeat until the network connection is fixed, then fails again. In other words, one message per disconnection.

    Thanks,
    Mike

  4. kludgery Says:

    The process runs is scheduled to ‘wake’ by the Android system scheduler and runs for that period of time. It will never stay running indefinitely. If you set the ‘Never’ option on, it will remove it from the scheduler and never run in the background. This is the most efficient way to run background services that I have found, and supposed to be the proper way of doing it.

    I think your suggestion for the connection error notification, is a good idea. I should be able to do that. I will place it on my todo list.

    Alex


Leave a Reply

